Tag: geek chic

These DIY galaxy Easter eggs are out of this world.

My kids love decorating Easter eggs, but now that they’re hitting their tweens they’re getting a little more creative. That’s why I can’t wait to try these DIY galaxy Easter eggs at Dream a Little Bigger. And, based on the tutorial, they look like they’re not nearly as hard to make as you’d think. Related: Martha Stewart’s Easter egg app gives you the perfect recipe to dye eggs. Related: OMG: Unicorn Easter eggs. Allison’s step-by-step tutorial makes these space eggs easy enough for anyone to make. And she’s got great tips about the supplies you can buy to make it so much easier, and how...

Read More

22 of the coolest iPhone 7 cases to suit any style. We’ve got you covered!

The new iPhone 7 is here on September 16, which in our world means a new case, too. And no surprise, there are already tons of fantastic iPhone 7 cases that are ready to ship and protect your precious investment. Jet-black iPhone, hellooooo. Of course, there’s no perfect iPhone 7 case, because everyone needs something different, whether it’s style, protection, a little bit of both (raises hand!), so we rounded up 22 of the coolest iPhone 7 cases for everyone. Yes, even you. And you. Cool Mom Tech is a reward style affiliate Related: 30 of the coolest iPhone...

Read More

A gorgeous wearable tracker that might actually help beat stress

We’ve seen lots of stylish activity trackers for women, even ones aimed to help deal with stress, but none have been so seemingly comprehensive in terms of physical and mental health as the new Bellabeat LEAF Urban. Related: 5 gorgeous fitness trackers for women Worn as bracelet, necklace, or a clip, the Bellabeat tracks fitness and sleep like most of the trackers on the market, but then it goes to a whole other level, from tracking your breathing patterns to letting you know when you’re about to start your period or if you’re PMSing, though that’s pretty obvious to me and those around...

Read More

The backpack that will make you a backpack lover, if you’re not already.

I admit that I was never really a backback as a handbag kind of person, even after having kids which tends to convert a lot of people. But then I moved into this cute little town where I could walk everywhere and needed a backpack. Lucky me, I was introduced to Bartaile at the exact same time, and I instantly fell in love. Well, they’ve since made some upgrades since they sent me their first model to try out, and are ready to launch their cool laptop backpack to the world. So, I’m thrilled that they’ve given Cool Mom...

Read More

Choosy moms choose GIF

We have an ongoing debate around here, knowing that GIF is supposed to be pronounced like the name of a popular peanut butter brand — but still having trouble saying it that way, considering the G stands for graphics which would indicate a hard G. You get our conundrum, right? If you’re not rolling your eyes at our total nerdery-slash-pedantry right now then you’ll appreciate the GIF peanut butter 8-bit t-shirt I just saw at Eternal Weekend which is totally cracking me up. If you really want to go for it, pair them with the peanut butter and jelly leggings at the shop. Just know that sadly,...

Read More

Make a splash with these 6 must-see geeky-cool pool floats and rafts

When it’s time to unplug the devices and hit the pool, lake, or ocean to cool off, I know my kids love stretching out and relaxing on a comfy pool float or raft while they talk to their friends. And, whoa, they would go nuts for any of these totally cool options we found, that reflect their love of all things tech, gaming, and geekery. Heck, I know plenty of adults who would love these too. So keep reading for six of the coolest geeky pool floats and rafts for our plugged-in kids. Just leave the electronics on dry land, okay? CMP is an...

Read More

A DIY tassel charger that you can really DIY. Promise.

We’ve featured a couple of cool tassel chargers here on Cool Mom Tech because they’re stylish and a pretty handy way to ensure you’ve always get a charging cable at your fingertips. But, if you’re feeling crafty, you can actually make your own thanks to this super simple tutorial we found. Whether you’re looking to add a fun, useful accessory to your own bag, or want to make a cool gift (hello, teacher!), check out this video from Geneva Vanderzeil of A Pair and a Spare that we think is pretty awesome. And better, super easy.   For more cool DIY...

Read More

Bitmap blankets are cozy geek chic.

If you’re struggling to find the perfect gift for the tech geek in your life who also happens to love stylish, modern home decor (in other words, they love 8-bit Pac Man but don’t need a wall mural of it) then we’ve got your back. I found these incredibly luxurious merino wool throws by Zuzanaga that I think make the perfect gift for the nostalgic tech-lover in all of us. Each of these bitmap blankets are actually real maps of cities including New York (just below), Tokyo, Shanghai, and Barcelona. Only each one is zoomed in hundreds of times to create the cool pixelated patterns. These blankets are knit in...

Read More

Web Coolness: The new Kindle Oasis, how to use Snapchat, plus a quick tip to help you charge your iPhone faster

Here are some of our favorite tech links from around the web this week. We hope you enjoy them too!   Feast your eyes on the newest Kindle e-reader. All those hidden Facebook messages you’ve been hearing about? Found them! Football games are now coming to Twitter! (via Pop Sugar Tech) A super simple tip to help your iPhone charge faster.   More than 40 of the coolest Star Wars party ideas for kids, like this easy Death Star pinata! How to fix 8 common Facebook problems. A handy new Chrome extension that lets you save web pages and...

Read More

We’ve found 8 geeky coloring books for adults, for fans of Doctor Who, Captain Kirk, and Jon Snow

By now we all know that the adult coloring books trend has taken over — just check any recent NYT Bestseller list. But if your inner nerd is wanting more than mandalas and nature scenes to help you get your zen on, check out these awesomely geeky coloring books for adults I’ve found. I’m already bookmarking them all for Mother’s Day, Father’s Day and my own wishlist. (Sign us all up for Sherlock, mkay?) CMP is an Amazon affiliate Related: 21 of the coolest coloring books for adults   The cult-fave small press, Geek Overlord, is just out with  Kitchen Overlord’s...

Read More

Ultimate Birthday Party Gift Guide

Pin It on Pinterest